COTD Day 3: Ruck

Day 3 & today’s carry is the simple ruck. It’s a single pass carry so good in warmer weather & good as a really quick ‘up’.

I used the same size 2, custom grad dyed (by Dye Candy), Didymos indio as I used in the photos for day one. It’s quite a thin wrap so if I don’t get a ruck just right with it then I find it can get a little ‘diggy’ after a while.

I most often use a ruck when G is only going to be up for a short space of time. I tied this one in front but I was tying in the very tapers of the wrap. Here’s one of the tutorials I’ve watched for a ruck tied in front…

As a quick ‘up’ I find a ruck a great carry but for longer duration carries, there are carries I find more supportive & comfortable that are possible to do with a size 2. That said, maybe with a cushier wrap my shoulders might not be so picky! If you’re struggling to tie in front when doing a ruck with a size 2, you may prefer tying under bum, at the side or even a knotless finish.

Ruck Tied In Front (just!)

Of all the ways to finish a ruck with a size 2 or 3, I find the knotless finish most comfortable & secure. I think it’s because the knotless finish spreads some of the weight across the chest & it also keeps the straps on the shoulders but that’s another carry for another day! Just in case you fancy trying the knotless finish, here’s my favourite tutorial…

This entry was posted in Carry of the Day, Carry of the Day Challenge 1 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

